Watch Maker? or Watch Repairer?

Rolex1400Some days I feel like a watch repairer or a watch technician. Other days I feel like a real watchmaker. Today was a watchmaker day!

Today I worked on a Rolex Caliber 1400. It is a small movement. As you can see from the picture it is smaller than a dime, but it isn’t the size that made me feel like a real watchmaker. This movement need a new balance staff. If you look at the full size image, you’ll see a little ‘something’ in the background between the movement and the dime. (That is the old balance staff.) To fix this watch I had to remove the old staff. This involves removing the hairspring and roller from the old staff. I chucked up the balance wheel in the lathe and cut out the old staff and riveted in a new staff. I then re-installed the roller, trued & poised the balance wheel, and then reinstalled the hairspring.

When I got done with the whole operation, I stopped to think. I didn’t even second guess myself because of the size. I simply did it and did it right. I guess today I’m a real watchmaker. I know I didn’t make anything, but I performed a complex operation on a very small watch and I did it right the first time without second guessing myself.

A big pat on the back for me!

2 Responses to “Watch Maker? or Watch Repairer?”


  1. 1 jantie March 5, 2008 at 5:19 pm

    Hi,

    I have a rolex 1401 from my girlfriend that needs to be fixed. The tirette is broken. I need the parts 2959 2960 2961 to fix it. Could you maybe help me?

    Thanks,

    Jantie

  2. 2 J.Peter March 5, 2008 at 6:53 pm

    I’m afraid I don’t sell Rolex parts, except as part of a repair, but these parts are still available from Rolex, so an authorized Rolex repair person can get the parts needed to perform the repair.


Leave a Reply

