Watchmaking Injustice

Today one of my colleagues asked me what my favorite watch is. For now I really like the A. Lange & Sohne Double Split Chronograph. It is just a very beautiful watch. Trouble is I can’t afford it and probably never will being a watchmaker. Here comes the injustice part.

All day long I spend my time working on, thinking about, and conversing with customers about beautiful expensive watches, when there are very few watchmakers who can actually afford to own such watches.

I’m not talking about a Rolex. I’m sure I’ll be able to afford a nice pre-owned Rolex someday, I’d probably go for a steel and rose Turn-O-Graph with a black dial if I had a choice. I’m talking about the really nice watches: Patek Philippe, A. Lange & Sohne, Vacheron Constantin, or say the Harry Winston Opus V.

So it is, such is life! All day I torture myself admiring beautifully crafted timepieces that are for the most part unattainable on a watchmaker’s salary.

I still love what I do!

Leave a Reply

